LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Why did you have to go and make things so complicated
Written at 9:06 a.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2002

Ok, question...How do you know if you really like someone or just using them to help you get over someone else?

I met someone and we appear to be clicking. So what's the problem you ask? I cant tell if I like him because I want to forget about "MrCuriousGeorge". Does that make sense? See, I had "MrCuriousGeorge" to help me forget about "MrSkinSoSoft" who helped me forget about "MrBackSeatDriver" who helped me forget about "MrBigDaddy" who helped me forget about "Pitcherboy". Are you seeing the pattern here? Yeah, me too.

But the thing is that during all this, at that time, I really thought I liked these people. Looking back, I see that I really didnt. Does that even make sense? Half of them I didnt even know well enough to be able to accurately draw a conclusion. All of them I had sex with well before I should have...with some of them being the very first night I met them.

I dont know why, but yesterday I got to thinking about "MrCuriousGeorge" and how he said something about someone in his family. I cant remember if it was a brother, brother-in-law, whatever. Then I realized that I didnt even know if he has siblings at all. For someone I thought I cared so much about, shouldnt I know this? I mean with all of them I know the really big, important details...age, how many kids, if they were ever married, etc. But its all the little details that I want to know. Stuff like how many brothers and sisters do you have, where is your family, how do you like your coffee, do you even like coffee?

I think its important that you know some, not all, of the little things to be able to accurately form an opinion or come to the conclusion whether you genuinely like someone or not. The only little thing I learned about each one of them was which side of my bed they preferred. Now that's sad.

Which brings me back to my question. How can I really be sure I like this person and am not just passing time with him to help me forget about "MrCuriousGeorge"? Where is my magic 8-ball when I need it?

<---|--->