LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Why cant we not be sober, I just want to drink forever
Written at on Monday, Sept. 02, 2002

Today was a long day.

I didnt really get to sleep in too much today. I was so low in energy for the first part of my day. To start off my morning, I received an email from "MrCuriousGeorge". Personally, I found it pretty stupid. He had forwarded an email to me from some girl, as if I really want to read that, and titled the subject "this email has something about you in it". I could only imagine. What could some girl I dont even know possibly have to say about me? To boil it down, the email was from a girl who used to come into the restaurant he worked at. She ran into "MrBunches" and I suppose he told her to relay a message to "MrCuriousGeorge" from me. It was something really, really stupid that I cant even beleive he felt it necessary to forward it on to me. How old are we again? So, I wrote him back a real smartass email.

Later in the afternoon, I went over to "MsMoHoney"'s family's house for a BBQ. It was so nice being around someone else's family besides my own. I love her family, they are all such nice people. It was fun. While I was there I got a call from my aunt about meeting them for dinner. She had called earlier and mentioned it...said around 5 or 6-ish. So when she called from the restaurant, because my family just doesnt know how to spend a holiday at home cooking, she sounded a little pissed. Almost like she couldnt beleive that I wasnt already there. I had called the place and talked to my friend that works there and asked him to call me when they got there. Which he did...at 6. Now I told her, had I got there at 5, I would have sat there waiting for an hour.

So, I went anyway and met them there anyway unsure of how the mood would be once I got there. Not only does my family never spend a holiday at home, we always eat at the same restaurant...this Indian place. Which, dont get me wrong, I love Indian food but you just dont know how many Thanksgivings and Christmas Eve's and birthdays I have spend there.

So, as I arrived I noticed there was someone there I didnt recognize. And who might this be, a long lost cousin or something? Ends up she was their yoga instructor. It was a long meal. My uncle complained about everything and anything. I was so embarrassed when he asked them if they could turn the lights down because it was a little too bright for him. And there is always something to complain about. One night, he was asking them if they could put some other kind of music on. Someone, please remind me why I spend time with my family...because I just dont know.

Then it was as if my aunt couldnt say anything right. She had mentioned the party for my birthday and all he could do was tell her how she wont have time because of her yoga training. Then she mentioned a yoga retreat and he has something to say about that. In case you cant tell my family is a bunch of curry eating, yoga freaks. Finally, I had my fill of the bickering and said "Cant we all just get along. You two sound like a married couple". I was trying to break it up and enjoy my meal in peace.

Well, it finally died down to mere pleasantry. Have you ever been with people and felt like you were watching then on tv. I felt so out of place, which I normally dont. They spent the ENTIRE meal talking about yoga amongst the three of them. Now, I have taken a few yoga classes but not enough to know what a Jugarananda pose is. I still dont, I had to make that one up. So, all I could do was sit there and listen not partaking in a single word in the conversation. It reminded me so much of when my ex and I would visit his mother and they just sat around talking about things like people from his childhood or anything that she knew would keep me out of the conversation. Again, I was left being a spectator.

Oh, and then the woman who was having dinner with us started talking about music. Now, I dont know how old she is, but I would say late somewhere in her 20's...early 30's at the most. So, she started talking about music and how she wants to start playing different types of music in her class. Now, I'm thinking that she is thinking one day Indian music and another day some type of tropical music because after all, yoga is a relaxing place with relaxing music. This is why it totally blew my mind when she said she wanted to play Tool in her class. TOOL!?! Has she ever heard their music? That is so not the type of music you want to hear in a yoga class. They have lyrics like "Hey fucking Johnny, Hey fucking Jane" and "Jesus wont you fucking whistle". And yes, she was very serious when she said it. I cant imagine that one.

So, that was when I knew it was time to leave to ensure that my sanity stay intact. I went home and picked up "MsMoHoney" and her brother. The three of us drove down to San Diego to take him back to his ship. He's in the navy. It was such a nice drive. And I must admit that I made pretty good time.

When we got back I really wasnt that tired so I went online and talked to my friend in France. It was cool, right in the middle of our conversation we had an earthquake. You would think that not being originally from California would make me afraid of them, but I'm not. Never have been. I think they are pretty cool...I know that makes me insane. I mean, they are cool when they are little shakers that dont cause alot of trouble.

I cant wait to crawl into bed and sleep. I am so tired. Its way past my bedtime.

<---|--->