LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Karma, karma, karma, karma, karma chameleon
Written at 10:38 a.m. on Saturday, Sept. 28, 2002

I would like to know what it is that I have done to piss off the movie karma fairy. Because she is just doing her best to work against me.

A few months ago, I had started watching What Dreams May Come. I didnt get all the way through it, so I left it in the VCR so that when I came back later, I could pick up where I left off. But, when I came back it was no longer in the VCR and no one had any idea where it went. Must have been one of those trick tapes that spontaneously combust if you leave them in the VCR for too long. Either way, its done, I dont care.

So friday after work I went shopping. I decided I was going to buy myself a DVD. It just so happened that I stumbled across What Dreams May Come. So without much thought, I bought it. Now my life is complete again. Well, that is what I thought up until I actually put the movie in to watch.

There I am kicking back, watching the movie, remembering just how good of a movie it is when I get about half way through it...and the movie just stops. Fluke, I am thinking to myself. So I take the DVD out and stick it in again. I fast forward to where I left off and sure enough it does it again. So I start thinking third time's a charm and do it again. Just like clockwork it does it again.

You may be thinking "Hey dumbass, you just bought it. Take it back to the store and get a new one". And by thinking that, you would be correct. But my point is that this is now the second time I have gotten halfway through the movie and was denied seeing the second half. And yes, while I can go to the store and get a new one, the principle is that I wanted to watch it NOW. I didnt want to get dressed, go back to the store, stand in line, talk to the sales clerk, go get another one, come home and then watch it. I just wanted to put it in the DVD player and simply watch it. Is that too much to ask for? Apparently it is.

So, yes, at some point today I am going to get dressed, go back to the store, stand in line, talk to the sales clerk, go get another one, come home and watch it. And I am telling you now, if I get halfway through it and something happens...people in Cambodia are going to hear me scream.

<---|--->