LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

-
Written at 3:29 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 18, 2005

Wow, that was so hard...

The funeral was definitely a different experience for me. We (the two big guys in my office and I) drove together. It wasnt very hard to find. We finally got there, right on time, and there were cars everywhere. He had alot of friends.

So I finally got over to the grave site. It was a perfect place...under this big, beautiful tree. The ceremony was intense. He's Muslim, so it was nothing I've ever experienced before. There was alot of praying and very honorable words spoken. After the speeches were finished, they lowered the casket into the ground and everyone took turns shoveling a scoop of dirt into the place he now calls his final resting place. As the dirt was being shoveled, I watched the beautiful hawk circling over us. And just as the final dirt was dropped, it started pouring rain. It was incredible. I thought if he were looking down on us, he would be laughing at all of us standing in the rain for him.

On my way home, I flipped down the visor in my car. Some papers and stuff fell on my lap. One of the envelopes that fell was a card I received shortly after my company Christmas party in December. Inside the card were a few pictures that were of me taken at the party. One of the pictures was of me, Matt, my friend and his girlfriend. I took a picture of the picture (upper left hand corner of page). It was just so ironic.

So I guess there is going to be an investigation into what really happened. I did go up and exte3nd my sympathies to his girlfriend. And she gave me a hug.

So that is that. Damn, I really cant believe he's gone...

<---|--->