LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Lean on me when you're not strong...
Written at 12:59 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2006

My heart is just so very broken. I've never wanted to cry for another person so badly in my life.

I had a very, very good friend of mine look at me with all the tears of the entire world in her eyes and tell me that her son just found out he is HIV positive. He's barely old enough to drink alcohol legally. That is so much younger than me. I cant beleive it. I would be destroyed...if I was either one of them.

This woman. This woman is great. I look to her almost like a mother figure. She is such a good person. Truly good to the core. You know, one of those people you meet and just feel like you've known forever.

All I could do was hold her and tell her everything will be okay. I almost felt like I was lieing, because I dont know how this is going to turn out. What do you tell someone that tells you something like that. I did tell her that I'd be right here for her...and him. That I promise. All I want to do is put a bubble around her and protect her from all of this.

I think when she told me about it she was afraid that I wouldnt want to be her friend. She just kept telling me how I cant get anything from either one of them. That I already knew. But I was never thinking that, nor would I ever, in the first place. This is a time when you cant turn your back on someone. When you need to be there to help your friend deal with it. Its got to be a very scary time for her right now and I just want her to know that she's not alone and that through it all, I will be there for her.

She's a very strong person. Stronger than I could ever aspire to be. And it makes you grateful. It was almost like a slap in the face. A reality check. And the cliche is true...you may have problems, but there is always someone out there with bigger ones than you. It really made me take a step back and look at things with an entirely different aspect. NONE of my problems are anywhere near as bad as this. So I need to stop complaining about my life and realize that it could be worse. Much worse.

<---|--->