LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

-
Written at 10:17 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006

I have had the best freak'n weekend. Still am actually.

I went directly to the hotel Friday after work. We all met in the restaurant of the hotel for dinner. Then we went back to their room to get it ready for a surprise birthday party for my aunt. The kids blew up balloons and put them all over the room.

I bailed out before my aunt got there for her party. I wasnt really sure how I felt about seeing her. I did see her back on my birthday in September, but before that it had been years. The bad blood between us is getting a little better, but I still didnt really want to see her. Besides, I knew I had to get up early the next morning.

Saturday morning. This morning. I got up at what felt like the buttcrack of dawn. I had to meet my friend at the hair salon at 7:15. Which meant that I had to be up at 6:30 to get dressed and drive there. I got my hair colored. Its still the same color, just had to cover up some pesky grey's. I ended up getting the cutest damn hair cut. I cant explain it, but it looks so much better.

After that, I headed back to the hotel. I knocked on their door and my aunt (the one from Seattle) answered and walked me into their little sitting area. They got a room with a kitchenette and mini living room so that the kids would have more space. Anyway, I walk into the room to see the aforementioned aunt that I was trying to avoid. Plan failed. She was really nice though.

We took the girls (5, 6, and 9) down to the pool. It was freezing, but you know kids...they dont worry about things like hypothermia. The pool only lasted about 15 minutes anyway. Then we headed back to the room to get the kids dressed. We were going to a tea party and the girls had to get their dresses on.

We left the hotel in two cars. I went with aunt from Baltimore and avoidee aunt back to avoidee aunt's house so she could change. It was almost sickening to see her house. She has done so many improvements on the house since I was there last. She has got the biggest tv I have ever seen. She tore up her backyard to put in a new fountain and outdoor fireplace. I could go on. It was an easy $75,000 in upgrades. And I was especially sickened when she told us to look out the back door because the ocean is so clear today that you can see Catalina Island. You could. I was still sickened though.

Anyway. We headed down to the Tea Party. Just so happens it was right down the street from the mission I went to with "S" a few weeks back. This tea party was the cutest thing ever. The girls all put on these victorian-looking dresses and when we got there, we all had to put a hat on. I picked a hat that I thought make me look asian, but according to everyone else I looked like the chick from Beetlejuice. Awesome. (insert sarcasm and rolling eyes here)

This place looked like a house from the outside. When you walked in there was a front desk then the rooms that you have your party in. One party taking up an entire room. They first brought us tea...private reserve for the adults and tootie fruitie for the kids. Then came the scones. Then came a plate with a bunch of finger food to have with your tea. Then last but not least desert. It was a wineglass with a sponge cake in the bottom topped with strawberries and whipped cream. I loved the strawberries and whipped cream, but the sponge cake tasted like it had been saturated in brandy or rum or something. I didnt like the cake so much. About halfway into it all the 6 yrs old, mind you the one who wanted this whole thing in the first place, said "I'm just not a tea person." Kids man, I tell ya.

I wanted to hide under the table at one point. "Wow Tracey. Have you checked out our waiter. What do you think about him?" I think he needed about ten more years to get into the game. I thought he looked about 22 or 23. Then avoidee aunt came right out and asked him how old he was because noone thought he looked that young. They were correct, too. He was 19. Nice. (insert another sarcastic remark and eye roll)

Buy this point I was tired. I had been up since 6:30 and was trying to keep some patience with cranky little kids who had been up even earlier than me and were getting really cranky by this point. When you dont have kids of your own and arent really used to being around kids, cranky behavior really grates your nerves. Besides, I was tired and cranky too.

When we got back to the hotel I decided I was too exhausted for more and headed home. Now I am taking my tired ass to bed. ZZZzzzzz.

<---|--->