LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

You may need me there to carry all your weight...but you're no burden I assure
Written at 12:43 p.m. on Wednesday, Jan. 17, 2007

I think I just got the biggest compliment I've received in a long time.

My phone at work rang, so of course I answered it. It was Becca saying she had a favor that she wanted to ask me because she's my best friend "in the whole wide world". I told her that she is and 9 times out of 10, she'll get what she asks for. She gets quite for a second and I can hear her welling up. It starts to worry me. She normally doesnt cry unless its something big. After a few seconds she mutters out, I wanted to know if you'd go with me and take parenting classes with me. Oh, that's an easy one...of course I would do that with her.

She was telling me that she just had lunch with her mother and it was brought up. I guess her mother started crying asking her to take the classes because Becca doesnt have the support system that her also-pregnant sister has. The caring husband who rubs her belly and gets her things that she needs. So her mom is worried and wants her to take classes. Even though her mom is a nurse, her mom knows that she's probably more comfortable with a friend.

So yeah, I told her I'd be honored. Which I am. I think its a true testament of our friendship that she asked. I'd love nothing more than to be a part of it. And I am truly flattered.

She's got enough on her plate right now. The father is kind of being a little wishy-washy in his involvement and I know it bothers her. A lot. So if I can aleiviate any of that in even a small way, I will. I'd do it for any of my friends.

I also told her not to do a thing. That I'd do the leg work on this and find out when and where the classes are. My only stipulation to her was our story. We're going to be a lesbian couple that got turned down on adoption so we've resorted to a sperm donor. Which basically is all the baby's father is worth anyway. I just wanted to hear her laugh.

This will be so good for me. It will get me out of the house while doing something for her at the same time. Double bonus here.

<---|--->