LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

You remain my power, my pleasure, my pain
Written at 1:04 a.m. on Monday, Sept. 02, 2002

It has indeed been a long day. I will sleep well tonight.

I didnt sleep very well last night. It was about 4:30 am before I even crawled into bed. I felt like I had only been asleep for 10 minutes and then I was abruptly awoken by "MrBialamos" calling me to check in on our church status. I kindly, as kindly as I could, explained to him that I didnt get much sleep and that I just wasnt up for it. So he told me that I should go back to sleep and he would call me in an hour to check in on what time we were going to the movies. 1 HOUR??? That would be barely enough time for me to fall back asleep. So he, like friggin' clockwork, called me back in exactly one hour. There were two showings of the movie HE picked out for us to see. One started in a half hour and the other 2 hours before he had to be at work later on. I told him that I didnt really think we could make either one. I just didnt see how we possibly could. Oh my gawd, you would have thought that I just killed his cat. He starts in on "if you really dont want to see the movie...". Then he tells me that I should still come pick him up, that he wants to show me something. All I could picture in my head was Al Pacino in Scarface saying "Say hello to my li'il friend". Then he kept saying how he really wants to come over to my house and hang out. I am somewhat worried about him knowing where I live. The whole thing is just creeping me out. So I just politely told him...another night "perhaps". (See, I did learn something from "MrCuriousGeorge". I am starting to get the gist of this whole "perhaps" thing. Although its making me think.)

So I quickly left me house before he could trace the call...I am just slightly kidding...and went shopping at Trader Joe's. Soy milk and tofu always cheer me up. No really, they do. I dont drink milk and I LOVE tofu. (My friends are all trying to ban together to have me committed for that one.) They just dont understand my love for tofu. Kinda like a man's love for a big piece of steak. It was really hard on the way home because on the corner of the street that Trader Joe's is on, is the place that "MrCuriousGeorge" worked at. I was stopped at the stop sign and looked over and just stared the building. I kept thinking about how I could walk right into there and he just wont be there. And that no matter how many times I go back, he will never be there. And it didnt help that five minutes after that, I passed his house on my way home and had to relive those thoughts all over again.

Which fit in ironically with a wounded heart that "Ms2inchman" was suffering from tonight. I felt so badly for her. She just doesnt deserve it. I wanted to cry with her tonight...because I know all too well how bad that pain is.

So later on, a friend of mine called to see what I was doing tonight. He lives about an hour away and wanted to come see me tonight. I was definitely up for that tonight. We were going to go to the movies but he didnt get here in time. It was nice, he actually asked me what movie I wanted to see instead of declaring what we are seeing like "MrBialamos" does. So when my friend got here tonight, we took a nice long drive down to the beach. We went and sat at the beach and just watched the water and talked and talked and talked. I hadnt realized how much I have missed him. We really only see each other once a year. We both promised that we would make more of an effort to regularly see each other. He is a really nice guy.

So to recap the things I learned today...1) I need to start screening my calls before I just go picking them up...2) Out of sight isnt always out of mind...3) Sometimes all I can do is lend an ear to a friend in pain, even when I want to do more...4) Keep good friend close, if only in heart...OH AND 5) My cat likes tofu too (I taught him well. HE IS THE MAN!!!)

<---|--->