LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Send it in a letter, make yourself feel better
Written at 1:58 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2002

I cant believe that I am only half-way through my day. I want to go home...NOW!

I was about 15 minutes late for work. I usually leave my house around 8 am to get to work by 8:30. Now that school is back in session, I should really leave the house by 7:50. I pass probably 3 or 4 different schools on my way to work, with each one severely slowing me down. There is always a crossing guard at every corner of every street on my way to work and no matter what direction I am coming from, they always seem to have 10 kids crossing the street at the exact moment my light turns green. And somehow with their little kid-radar they just know when you are late for work and walk all the more slowly across the damn intersection.

Boy things have changed alot since I went to Elementary school. The most obvious of it, to me at least, is that here in California they really do not have a bus system that takes kids to and from school. I think someone once told me that is costs alot to put your kids on the bus...a couple hundred a year. Back in Maryland, that is pretty much the only way kids went to school. Because really, what kid wants to walk to school in the snow?

So today as I sat in my car at the intersection watching what felt like 50 rugrats passing in front of my car, I just watched them. One after the other. And I observed. One little girl looked like she was toting my Eddie Bauer luggage across the street. She was sporting one of those luggage looking things with the wheels on it...and she couldnt have been older than six or seven. The thing was almost as big as her. Then behind her came another kid with one, followed by another kid with one. Since when did this trend start? What happened to the good old backpacks? Do they really get that many books and that much homework that they need something that big? They look like little people on their way to the office or something. It was kinda scary.

So, umm, yeah...I was 15 minutes late to work but I can now write a book on child behavior on the way to school.

Work hasnt gone that badly for me today. "MsAngelic" came and met me for lunch today and brought me my mail. I was sorta embarrassed by how badly I let it accumulate. See, I skipped going to my mailbox for a few days so the box got full. So they took all my mail and have been holding it there in the post office. So "MsAngelic" was going to the post office to mail a few things and I asked if she could grab my mail while I was there. I was mortified when I saw that there was so much of it, that the post office had to put it all in one of those big white US MAIL bins. Geez um! But yeah...there was birthday money in there so I am not bitching. But it is going to take me a good week to go through the whole bin.

<---|--->