LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Livin' la vida loca...
Written at 12:55 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 24, 2002

Today I had my very first encounter with a Guava. I had never tasted one before.

A woman that I work with is always eating them and they have this very distinct smell, which I always comment about. Its not a very nice smell, to me that is. Well, today she brings me in one and tells me to try it. After much reluctance, I try it. I am undecided if I like it or not. Its very...different. Some parts of it are sour, while others are sweet. Sometimes, in the case of Chinese food, sweet and sour can be a good thing. I just dont know when it comes to fruit though. But it was very nice of her to have brought it in for me.

So I was telling her that I will have to buy some and try it out. Maybe put it in a smoothie or something. Then I started thinking, I go to the grocery store fairly often and I occasionally peruse the produce department...and I have never seen Guava there. I dont recall ever seeing it in any grocery stores or health food stores. I then inquire with her about this. She kinda laughs with this little giggle of hers and explains to me that you really can only get them at Mexican market. Well, that explains that.

Strawberries, David and Bonehead...and now Guavas. Three things that still dont make much sense to me.

<---|--->