LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

And it feels like I'm going home...
Written at 10:42 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 27, 2002

I finally made it over to my grandmother's house today. It was incredible.

I drove out there at about 11 am totally unsure of where I was going. I got turned around a few times...damn back woods roads. I even managed to find her street and the street number, but when I pulled in...it wasnt her house.

So I called her from my cell phone and said "This isnt your house". She nearly screamed when she found out how close I was and then proceeded to give me better directions.

When I pulled down the long driveway, she was standing outside waiting for me. I got out of the car and ran up to her. She hugged me with the jaws of life and we both just cried.

We sat there talking for a while until my grandfather came home. He gave me a hug and said "Look at my blonde little turtle". I wanted to cry again...he always called me Turtle. I am too self conscious to ask why.

Then my grandmother asked me "How do you get that jewel to stay on your nose like that?"...so I said "It goes through my nose". I dont think my grandmother quite grasps the concept of body piercings yet. She told me she nearly passed out when she saw my cousin's tongue ring. That's my NaNa!

I had to cut my visit a little short because I am scared to drive these back roads at night here. Its scary enough in broad daylight. But I told them I would be back tomorrow. That's when my mother is coming out there. This should be exciting. That is if I dont give her a heart attack.

I really have missed my family alot. 7 years is just too long to go without seeing them. Never again.

<---|--->