LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

I will go down with this ship and I wont put my hands up and surrender...there will be no white flag above my door, I'm in love and always will be
Written at 1:57 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2003

After two illegal u-turns and one very illegal ran redlight, I finally made it to my appointment.

Earlier this week I rented Empire on dvd. I'm not going to go into a long blurb about the story. Basically, this guy (John Leguizamo) is a big time drug dealer who wants to go straight and get in on some investment deals. His girlfriend tells him I want you to go into this knowing that you're smarter than he is. And that's what I did today...I went into it KNOWING that I was qualified for the position and could do it. That they'd be lucky to have someone like me work for them.

I like this place...I really do! The people were very nice to me there. Ok, the receptionist lady could have been a little nicer, but she isnt the one who does the hiring...so it doesnt matter.

Its a really nice company. Its a publishing company that deals with animal, sports and hobby magazines. I would deal with the sales department that sells ad space in the back. I wouldnt do the sales, but I would makes sure the ads are in and look the way that the customer wants it to. Also handle the accounts receivable and make sure they've paid for the ads before they run.

I was a little worried at first over my nose ring. I'd heard about how professional this company is and how they have such high standards. But they didnt seem to mind it. Which is a good thing. I mean, I need a job and all...I just dont want to have to take my nose ring out. I tend to forget its even there.

I was also worried about the dress code. Again, I was told very professional, but when I got there that wasnt exactly the case. I mean, they werent in jeans or anything, but it was casual business attire. Which is a very good thing, because I cant fit into any of my clothes anymore. Even the skirt I had bought only a month or so ago with "MsAngelic" is falling off of my hips. All of my jeans are doing the same thing too. Dont get me wrong, I am very, very, VERY happy to be losing weight...but wouldnt it be nice if your clothes would adjust with you?

I havent been eating is what it is. I'm not starving myself though. I just have been so stressed out that I havent been the least bit hungry at all. I got reprimanded about it yesterday You lost 7 lbs in 4 days? That's not good...at all! You need to eat. Here...have half of mine. That's all your eating...that's not enough. I appreciate the thoughtfulness behind it. Because believe me, it takes someone sitting me down and reminding me to eat to get me to do it.

So yeah, I'm smiling today. My face almost cracked because it had been so long. But my teeth show today, so that's a good thing. The sullen look doesnt work well for me anyway.

UPDATE: I just got a call back from my interview. In the short time it took me to finish that paragraph, I got a call. They are making final decisions around 4:00 today and think they want to make me an offer if I can start tomorrow. Why yes, YES I CAN!

So we'll see if I get a call back around 4 today....fingers still crossed.

<---|--->