LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

-
Written at 10:41 a.m. on Monday, Dec. 19, 2005

I had the best weekend ever. It was so nice and relaxing.

We left the house a little behind, so that threw off everything. I wanted to get to the hotel and check in at 3, but it was closer to 6 when we got there.

This place was simply amazing. Our room was on the 8th floor and was probably bigger than my entire apartment. It was overlooking some of the water and a street that consisted mostly of little bars and hot spots. We got there with just enough time to get dressed and head down to the party for cocktails. I also think that this was the first time in my life that I've ever bought an outfit to wear without trying on, taken it to wear and it actually worked. Normally, my first choice doesnt work and I end up trying on ten different things before I get something that works. This time, first time was the charm.

So, we got down to the party and stood around talking to everyone outside of the dining area. There were more people than I expected that showed up and even more that I didnt know. That's ok though because open bar makes everything okay. My good friend Agnes, from the Corp. Office was there so I got to see her before she left on her maternity leave effective today. And her husband, Tony, that wasnt at her baby shower. It was nice to finally meet him.

The dinner was excellent. There was a butternut squash soup to start, followed by a walnut pear garden salad. Charlie got the filet mignon and I got the roasted halibut. Then a chocolate mousse for dessert. The waiters were coming around clearing your plates and bringing the next course more quickly than you could even eat it. So I lost out alot there. I want to eat at my own pace...not someone else's.

There was this little time before the dessert where we all had to go around the room and say our name and what office we're from. I hate those kind of things. There was also an employee that has worked for the company for ten years and they honored him with a Rolex. I think they just inspired every employee to stay in the company for ten years.

This was also, probably, the last time I will see another co-worker. He came for the party, but didnt stay the night. He and his two sons were leaving that morning at 3am to start driving to their new home in Georgia. Thankfully, this was my opportunity to say goodbye to him. I'd never had anyone sincerely thank me for anything, let alone everything, before. I'm the one that needed to give the big thanks. Its because of him that I even have a home as he was the one that lent me $500 to even move in.

After the party, we went down to another co-workers room to hang out with her and her boyfriend while we waited for everyone to get there. We all just sat around the room talking, drinking and smoking. Well, I did the first two, because I quit smoking about 9 months ago.

After a while, we went back to our room. We sat in the window seat, big enough to fit 5 people, and we sat there talking and watching the city and the people out doing their Saturday night thing. It was nice to just sit there with him and just enjoy it. He's very doting like that. And that's what I love about him, he's very attentive.

When we woke up the next morning, I knew I wasnt going to be ready anytime soon to go out in public so I ordered room service. It was a nice eggs, hashbrown, bacon and oj breakfast. Just that I didnt have to cook it and I didnt have to clean it up made it all well worth it. And I think that is what made me enjoy the weekend so much. I wasnt the one who had to figure out what was for dinner. I didnt have to cook it. I didnt have to put much thought into the weekend at all. Just lay back and enjoy it.

And that brings me to today. Yuck! I hate Mondays. Especially around here. And if I'm not told what I want to hear, its going to get crazy around here. I put a time off request in for this Friday, but was informed by the air-head in charge (while my real boss is away)that another co-worker is already taking that day off. On a scale of 1 to 10...I care about a negative 2. She's in Marketing, so I dont understand what the problem is. She doesnt do my job, and I dont do hers. Long story short...she couldnt cover me while I'm out even if she was here. So what is the big problem with me taking off? Seriously though. If they make me come in, they BETTER have someone here so that I can go to lunch. I havent been able to take a lunch for about 3 weeks now. Wanna push my buttons...I'll push yours right back. I just dont understand the reasoning behind why I might not be able to take off Friday. And the only guy holding me back, who is almost NEVER in the office, is here and jumping on the phones every time they ring. Well, if its that big of a friggin' deal, he can come in Friday and answer them. And I think he heard me when I kinda said it loud enough for him to hear me the last time he answered the phone. I mean really, in the last year and a half, I've only taken two days vacation time and that was so I could go to Seattle to see my family. Its Christmas, Mr Scrooge...please let me stay home and enjoy it.

Ok, raging rant over. I just got it back signed and approved. Really, I need to start doing entries faster. I started this at 10:41...its now 2:05. I probably should get back to work any way.

<---|--->