LatestArchivesProfileNotesGuestbookDesignD-Land

Deck the halls...
Written at 1:05 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2005

I dont even know where to begin or find the words to explain it. It was just a nice Christmas.

One thing I've learned about Charlie is...he's a big procrastinator. Maybe even bigger than me. For my company Christmas party a few weeks ago, he had waited until the morning of my party to even buy something to wear. Well, he kinda did the same for Christmas. We had to go scavange the stores on Christmas eve. It was NOT a pretty sight. Basically, it was alot of walking around for a gift for his nephew. I had already taken it upon myself to get something for everyone else in his family. And his nephew...he's 8. The perfect gift for an 8 yr old boy is a gift certificate for Game Stop or something. So he can buy a game for whatever play station or nintendo he has.


Christmas morning, I'd gotten up so early you'd have thought I was the 8 yr old. I put on Christmas music. I made hot cocoa. I lit some candles. Then I just waited. Patiently. For him to get up. I was mostly excited about giving him his gifts. I did end up getting him the guitar he wanted. And to my surprise, he sorta can play. Little ways yet to go, but not like a cat being stepped on either. Its tolerable.

So my gift. Yes, my gift was awesome. And it shows that he is a very good listener. A month or so back we were looking through the newspaper. I found a little Macy's catalog. There was a ring, earring and necklace set of mystic fire Topaz. I loved the color of the stone...sometimes purple, sometimes blue, sometimes pink. I commented on it and put the catalog on the coffee table. Anyway, when I opened the little box I found the most beautiful ring. "I know you liked the set that was in the catalog, but when I saw it, it looked cheesy. The stone in all 3 pieces combined were smaller than this one". Awww, I love my ring. A guy just cant go wrong with jewelry. I have quiet a collection going on now. Its like the ex-box. A ruby ring and ruby earrings from Curt. A sapphire (my birthstone) ring, sapphire necklace and sapphire earrings from Matt.

After that, I went back to bed. I had, afterall, been up since the butt-crack of dawn. When I woke up, I began being rushed out the door. We still had to do the family thing with his family. That was nerve-wracking. I had no idea what to expect. It was just his father, father's wife and her mother. And his sister, her hsband and their son. Two neighbors also joined us for dinner.

His family was very nice, very warm people. A few entries back, I made mention of my ex's parents. Charlie's dad reminded me so much of Curt's dad. Especially, the whole dad re-married the woman he was seeing shortly after the divorce and now the mom's all bitter thing. Although, I didnt have the feeling at dessert that I always had at Curt's dad's..."Shit, we still have to go and see his mom. Day-um!" This year we excluded the bitter mom altogether. He didnt want to see his mother anyway.

His dad and the new wife were so nice. I thanked them profusely for having me to dinner and their gifts. I did feel a little embarrassed a few times. My balance is getting bad. I know at first they thought I was drunk. I have no idea what, if anything, was ever said beforehand about my condition. But it was good. No disasters or anything. So the bottom line is this...I love Charlie and all. I hope it works out, but if it doesnt...I'm keeping his family. They're nice people.

This was the first Christmas in a long time that I really enjoyed and had a good time. I missed my family though. I missed them alot. We did, probably prematurely, talked about going back next year for Christmas. I really do want it to work. I have a good man. He cares alot about me and is very good to me. His family likes me and I really like them too. So, yeah, this one's a keeper.

<---|--->